CARP Directors’ Memorial Prize

This prize has been established to honor the memory of José Huertas-Jourda and other huertas-jourdaformer directors of the Center for Advanced Research in Phenomenology who have passed away.  It is awarded at the annual meeting of the Husserl Circle to a junior faculty member or graduate student who is deemed to have submitted a paper that is an outstanding example of continuing work in the phenomenological tradition, and includes  a stipend to help cover travel costs to the meeting. Our thanks to the friends of José who have contributed to establish the prize.

2019    Matt Bower, Texas State University
“Is Perception Inadequate?”

2018    Daniele De Santis, University of Rome
“The Phenomenologist and the Performer: On Husserl’s Socrates”


Nikos Soueltzis, University of Crete
“Formal and Material Accounts of Protention in Husserl’s Phenomenology.”


Benjamin Sherados
“Act Psychology and Phenomenology: Husserl on Egoic Acts”


Emilio Vicuna
“Intersubjectivity and the Constitution of Objective Space”


Genki Uemura
“Making Sense of the Actuality: Husserl’s Transcendental Idealism in the Light of the Metaphysics of Modality”


Philippe Merz
“Is a Rationally Self-Determined Life Possible? On Husserl’s Phenomenological Notion of Freedom”


Witold Plotka
“The Transcendental Reduction as Questioning: Husserl’s Phenomenology and the Problem of the Question”


Smaranda Aldea
Phantasie and Husserl’s Phenomenological Inquiry”